腦血管意外 - 你應該做什麼?

如果你經歷突然的面部虛弱,手臂虛弱,你的言語問題,或難以理解別人對你說的話,你可能會遇到腦血管意外,通常被稱為中風。其他症狀可能包括眩暈或困惑,吞嚥困難,或喪失身體一側的運動。

根據中風協會,“中風每年在英國發生約12.5萬次”。即使老年人面臨更大的風險,幾乎三分之一的中風發生在65歲以下的人群,雖然很少,中風甚至可能發生在兒童和嬰兒。

中風是一種非常嚴重且可能危及生命的疾病,需要緊急治療以限制任何可能的損害,如果您認為您或其他人患有中風,您應立即撥打999並請求救護車。有時症狀可能會在救護車到達之前消失,但您仍然需要去醫院接受評估,因為您可能經歷過短暫性腦缺血發作,也稱為微型中風。

缺血性中風和出血性中風是兩種主要類型的腦血管意外。

缺血性中風是最常見的中風類型,並且是由通向大腦的動脈中的阻塞引起的。出血性中風發生在血管破裂並流入大腦時,破壞周圍的腦組織。這是最嚴重的中風類型。

某些醫療條件可能會增加您患中風的風險。這些疾病包括高血壓,高膽固醇,不規則的心跳和糖尿病。為了降低中風的風險,需要定期監測和治療這些疾病。類似地,一些生活方式因素也在增加中風的風險中起作用。他們包括吸煙,飲食不良,肥胖,沒有足夠的運動,並超過推薦的酒精安全限度。

腦血管意外的治療取決於您經歷的中風類型。在缺血性中風的情況下,通常施用藥物以除去任何血塊或防止任何新的血塊形成。也可以給予藥物以降低血液中的高血壓和膽固醇。出血性中風可以用藥物治療,但在一些情況下,手術可能是必要的“治療腦腫脹和降低進一步出血的風險”。

在發生腦血管事故後,通常需要康復以改善生活質量和獨立性。這可能包括物理治療,言語治療,或與營養師諮詢,可以提供營養建議,以確保您吃健康,均衡的飲食。職業治療師,專科護士和醫生,也可以參與你的康復。

雖然腦血管意外的風險不能完全消除,但有辦法降低風險。要減少中風的機會,你應該吃健康,均衡的飲食,確保你定期運動,減少鹽攝入量,避免吸煙和喝太多的酒精。

2009年,英格蘭公共衛生部啟動了FAST行動計劃,旨在通過讓人們意識到中風的體徵和症狀來挽救生命,如果懷疑發生醫療緊急情況,該如何處理。

行動FAST

Cerebrovascular Accident - What you should do?

If you experience sudden facial weakness, weakness in the arm, problems with your speech, or difficulty understanding what someone else is saying to you, it is possible you could be experiencing a Cerebrovascular Accident, commonly known as a stroke. Other symptoms may include dizziness or confusion, difficulty swallowing, or the loss of movement to one side of the body.

According to the Stroke Association, "stroke occurs approximately 152,000 times a year in the UK". Even though older people are more at risk, nearly a third of strokes happen to those people under the age of 65 and, although rare, stroke can even occur in children and babies.

A stroke is a very serious, and potentially life threatening, medical condition which requires urgent treatment to limit any possible damage, and if you believe that either you or someone else is having a stroke, you should dial 999 immediately and request an ambulance. Sometimes the symptoms may disappear before the ambulance arrives, but you still need to go to hospital to be assessed, since you may have experienced a transient ischaemic attack, also known as a mini-stroke.

Ischemic stroke and hemorrhagic stroke are the two major types of Cerebrovascular Accident.

An ischemic stroke is the most common type of stroke and is caused by a blockage in an artery that leads to the brain. Hemorrhagic strokes occur when a blood vessel bursts and bleeds into the brain, damaging surrounding brain tissue. This is the most serious type of stroke.

Certain medical conditions may increase your risk of having a stroke. These medical conditions include high blood pressure, high cholesterol, irregular heartbeat, and diabetes. To reduce the risk of stroke, these conditions need to be regularly monitored and treated. Similarly, some lifestyle factors also play a part in increasing the risk of having a stroke. They include smoking, a poor diet, obesity, not taking enough exercise, and exceeding the recommended safe limits of alcohol.

Treatment for Cerebrovascular Accident depends on the type of stroke you experienced. In the case of ischemic stroke, medication is usually administered to get rid of any blood clots or to prevent any new blood clots from forming. Medication may also be given to lower high blood pressure and cholesterol in the blood. Hemorrhagic strokes may be treated with medication but, in some instances, surgery may be necessary "to treat brain swelling and reduce the risk of further bleeding".

Following a Cerebrovascular Accident, rehabilitation is often required to improve quality of life and independence. This could include physiotherapy, speech therapy, or consultations with a dietician who can give nutritional advice to ensure you eat a healthy, balanced diet. Occupational therapists, and specialist nurses and doctors, could also be involved in your rehabilitation.

Although the risk of Cerebrovascular Accident cannot be totally eliminated, there are ways to reduce the risk. To reduce your chances of a stroke, you should eat a healthy, balanced diet, ensure you take regular exercise, reduce your salt intake, and avoid smoking and drinking too much alcohol.

In 2009, Public Health England launched the Act FAST campaign, which aims to save lives by making people aware of the signs and symptoms of stroke and what to do if this medical emergency is suspected.

Act FAST